Interested in Becoming a VPA Patient?
To become a patient and visit Vermont Patients Alliance, Inc. follow these steps:
- Complete a Registered Patient Application and designate Vermont Patients Alliance, Inc. as your dispensary. After all sections of the form are completed you will need to have it notarized.
- Visit your health care provider and have them complete the Health Care Professional Verification Form verifying that you have a debilitating medical condition that qualifies you for the Vermont Marijuana Registry.
- Pay the $50 annual fee and provide a digital photograph of yourself with the form.
- Mail the completed form along with the other required items to the Vermont Marijuana Registry at the address provided on the form. Visit the Vermont Marijuana Registry website here.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does the registration process take?
Patient applications are typically processed within 30 days. As soon as you receive your registry identification card you will be able to make an appointment at Vermont Patients Alliance. We can usually schedule same day or next day patient appointments.
Is there a cost to register?
Yes, the Vermont Marijuana Registry charges a $50 non-refundable fee for each application. There are no provisions to waive the fee, pay the fee in installments, or pay the fee with a credit card. The fee must accompany each new or renewal application. The fee must be paid by check or money order. Checks or money orders should be made out to the Vermont Department of Public Safety. Please note that the fee will not be returned in the event that your application is denied.
How do I become a caregiver?
To become a caregiver for a registered patient you must submit a Caregiver Application Form to the Department of Public Safety. A registered caregiver may only serve one patient at a time. A caregiver may visit a dispensary and purchase medical marijuana for their registered patient. A caregiver may also cultivate marijuana for their registered patient.
Can I visit Vermont Patients Alliance, Inc. before designating it as my dispensary?
No. We are sorry, but at this time we do not schedule appointments until a patient has designated us as their dispensary.
Can an out-of-state health care provider sign my health care verification form?
Your health care provider must be licensed to practice in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York in order to complete the form.
I am a medical marijuana patient in another state. Can I purchase from Vermont Patients Alliance?
No, we are sorry but Vermont medical marijuana laws are not reciprocal with other states. VPA may only serve Vermont residents.
What medical conditions qualify a patient for the Vermont Marijuana Registry?
Title 18 V.S.A. Chapter 86 defines “debilitating medical condition” to include the following conditions: (1) Cancer, acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), multiple sclerosis (MS), or the treatment of these conditions if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; or (2) A disease, medical condition, or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating and produces severe, persistent, and one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe pain, nausea or seizures.
New VPA Patient?
Great – welcome! Thanks for choosing Vermont Patients Alliance as your dispensary. Vermont law requires that all patients make an appointment before visiting the dispensary. To schedule your first appointment please call (802) 225-6786 or email us here.
What should I expect at my first appointment?
Your first appointment will last about thirty minutes. You will be required to complete intake paperwork before entering the dispensary. You will have the opportunity to consult with our Dispensary Manager to learn about the Cannabis and Cannabis-infused products we carry. Please bring your Vermont Marijuana Registry identification card (that says you have designated Vermont Patients Alliance, Inc. as your dispensary) and a Vermont state issued ID.
When are you open?
VPA is open Tuesday-Saturday by appointment only. Please call 802-225-6786 to make an appointment.
What are the payment options?
We can only accept cash or check. We do not accept debit or credit cards. Please plan accordingly. A sliding-scale discount is offered for low income patients and veterans.
Do I have to bring a locked container to the dispensary? What does this mean?
Yes, the law requires that Cannabis be transported in a locked container. Any container that locks is sufficient to comply with the law. VPA sells locking bank bags for $20 if you need to purchase one at your first appointment. You must bring a locked container to the dispensary for every appointment.
How often can I visit the dispensary and how much can I buy?
You may visit Vermont Patients Alliance as often as needed. You may only purchase two ounces every thirty days.
Do you deliver?
Delivery will be up and running soon! Recent changes in Vermont law permit dispensaries to deliver directly to the home of a registered patient. VPA is implementing a statewide delivery program as we anticipate a roll out by late fall or early winter.
Can I purchase clones or seeds from Vermont Patients Alliance?
No. We do not sell seeds or clones at this time.